Meeting.

There is a very good chance, I’d say it’s 99.9% sure, that I will be meeting W’s 8-year old daughter for the first time tomorrow. For those of you that know me from my previous blog know that in my last relationship I had trouble with my ex’s daughter. Actually, calling it trouble is putting it lightly. It was a miserable experience, really. She hated, and I mean hated me, and did everything she could to make my life difficult during the three years that I was with her father. So you can see why meeting W’s daughter has brought on some anxiety and fear with it.

I’ve told him about my previous experience. He knows pretty much the whole story and he’s reassured me that his daughter, M, is nothing like my ex’s daughter. For the sake of the relationship I hope he’s right. I don’t know if I could go through that again. And I would hate to lose him over that. It’s been so wonderful with him so far.

The plan is to go with them to the city’s aquarium and spend a few hours with them. She knows about me already. Knows that her papa has a “special friend”. She knows my name and that a plan has been made for us to meet. She seems to be very interested in meeting me and doesn’t seem to mind it either.

I don’t want to bring the past into this wonderful present I have now. I’m trying hard not to let the fear of what happened the last time take over. W has already shown me that he is nothing, nothing like my ex. He has shown me that he truly loves me and that he wants this to work. So I need to trust him enough to believe that he’s made the right decision by wanting us to meet sooner than we had originally planned.

I’ll go with them to the museum and hopefully things will go well. It’s really all I can do, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

