13.1

FullSizeRender

Dear Chicago Women’s Half Marathon,

Last year you kicked my ass. I don’t know what went wrong but it was a really bad run. Was it simply the super-warm temps that morning that did me in? I had been training in high temps all summer so I was used to running in stiflingly warm weather. Or was it something else? I felt so disappointed in myself afterward that I felt like crying. I didn’t stick around for the after race festivities. I simply grabbed my medal and went home.

My poor performance that day stuck with me all the way through to the full marathon the following month. So much so that I was worried my full marathon performance would also suffer for some unexplained reason. But even though I worried about how good (or bad) a run I might have that October morning I didn’t let it get to me. I not only ran the entire marathon but I improved on my over all time.

So, yes, you bested me last year. But, you know what? That’s not going to happen this time. No, this time I’m ready for you. This time I know what to do. This time I’ll proudly take my finisher’s medal at the end and walk home with my head held high. Because this time I’m going to kick your ass.

Sincerely,

Me

Leave a Reply

